Super Fuji most fun time go!

20140807_134405

It’s built. The above photo is the before picture and Craig’s list of deals has been very very good to me.
Purchase #1: Up for a deal was a set of Avid shorty-4 canti-lever brakes. A whole set front and rear, for $20. The difference between the 4 and the 6 is the pads mount into cartridges on the 6 and the 4 does not, they just thread in. Honestly the difference I see is that this whole set works just like the 6 and better than most other canti-lever brakes for only twenty bucks! I now have the ability to adjust the pads with toe-in or out as required. The real-estate salesman/cat-4 cross racer was going V-style brakes.

20140822_141701

Purchase #2: Ritchey bio-max 44cm handlebars. Why? I mean, I have handlebars and honestly they work well but I have wider shoulders. I needed the wider bars and besides, for $25, I save a quarter pound of weight, have bars that are shallow in reach and drops making them comfortable on the cross bike. Oh, they also were $55 less than retail and had been used for perhaps a year by the sixty-year old guy who sold them to me in the parking lot at the Cabella’s sporting goods store. He got the twenty-fifth dollar in quarters. Bank’s don’t give ATM money in fives and that’s how Craig’s list works.

20140823_175814

Purchase #3: A set of Specialized Pave Roval wheels. Wider rims, somewhat aero, can be and have successfully ben used for tubeless riding, and once at home, I weighed them and they are a whole pound and a half lighter than the old set. This is a 1.7kg set of wheels. It’s hard to go lighter than this without going tubular style of glue on tires or getting silly silly money involved. This deal came with three good tires, two matching and the third was on the front wheel for more grip on wet grassy types of surface. Wither way, brand nes, this whole thing would have cost over five hundred but for $250, this was honestly a steal for a year old set of straight and strong wheels. The guy selling them was doing a lot of mountain bike racing and has a different set of Easton wheels on his cross bike now.

Purchase #4: not from Craigs list but they can’t be found any cheaper is a pair of MTB Shimano pedals and some Giro MTB shoes from two years ago in a new old stock clearance. Although they are the same size as the Giro road shoes that fit me so well, they seem to have more room in the toe box area. I assume because they are MTB shoes they need thicker socks but I am probably wrong. I will need warm gear anyway so I’ll be happy to wear wool blends of thick niceness in there. The pedals are good and will last a war and shed mud very well and are not as fragile as the famed eggbeater pedals. they work nicely.

So the bike is fully together and adjusted. I’m quite happy and I think I got the weight down to just under twenty-two pounds. Not bad for $750, and I still have the old set of parts to put back on it when I sell it on and pick up a different, lighter, better frame and fork two years later. The Cannondale is desperately needing a compact double crank and ten-speed rear with an 11-30 cassette, and probably another set of those Ritchey handlebars, they are really nice. There is always more to get or improve on. In my perfect world, I would have one bike for each discipline and have it set up with the right parts and then leave it alone, riding it as intended for many years, only adding maintenance and tires when applicable. Ha. HA! There is always the want for more. I have to avoid it just like I avoid the want for nice cars or to own a plane of my very own. I don’t need a fancy leathered out car because I only drive my own car seven thousand miles a year and leave it in a regularly hail-attacked parking lot at the airport for days at a time in the hot sun. That would be great treatment for a Porsche.

Leave a Reply

